Colorado Springs Police Department Accident Reports

November 13, 2018 | Police Accident Reports

Learn how to get your accident report from the Colorado Springs Police (CSPD)

Colorado Springs Police Department Accident Reports A traffic accident report is an important document in any auto accident injury case. It is a report filed by a police officer that describes the facts and circumstances surrounding the accident.

Because your accident report is used as evidence by insurance companies and the court system, it is important to review your accident report to ensure the information is 100% accurate.

If your accident was attended to by the Colorado Springs Police Department or the El Paso County Sheriff, follow the instructions below. Otherwise you will need to request a report from that filing agency.

Getting Your Accident Report from Other Colorado Police Agencies:

Injured in a car crash? We are here to help.

The period immediately following a serious car crash is filled with pain, anxiety, and confusion. If you’re suffering, we want to help. Contact McCormick & Murphy now for a FREE case review. A qualified car accident attorney from our Firm will listen to the details of your crash and explain your options. Get a free case review now.

How to get a Colorado Springs Police Accident Report

You can only obtain your crash report if the Colorado Springs Police Department was the filing agency. They will give you a report for filing out a request form. The form online currently doesn’t work, so you must pick up the form and submit it to:

Colorado Springs Police Department

Additionally, you must pay $7.50 by check, cash or money order to obtain the report. If you’d rather avoid the hassle, we’ll help you get your accident report.

How to get a El Paso County Accident Report

A little easier than Colorado Springs, El Paso County Sheriff requires you fill out this form to request an Accident Report. They ask you to include at minimum:

  • Name of Person Involved
  • Case #
  • Date of Incident
  • Location of Incident

Your Accident report will cost $6.00 for the first ten pages. If it exceeds that, it is $0.25 for each additional page.

Mail or Drop this form off at:

  • El Paso County Sheriff Office
    27 East Vermijo Avenue,
    Colorado Springs, CO 80903
  • Get Directions

Why Should I Obtain a Police Accident Report?

An accident report includes pertinent facts and statements about your car accident, such as:

  • names of all drivers and passengers involved in the accident;
  • contact information and insurance details for all parties involved;
  • any injuries sustained in the accident;
  • illegal activity or failure to follow traffic laws by either driver;
  • damage to vehicles and other public or private property;
  • witness statements; and
  • description of the accident and events leading up to the crash.

The police officer may also assign fault to one or both drivers in the traffic accident report. If you notice an error in your accident report or disagree with the version of events detailed in the report, talk to your attorney. It can be very difficult to change the information in a police report, but a skilled personal injury attorney may be able to help.

Injured in a Car Accident? Get Legal Help Today.

If you or a loved one was involved in a serious car accident, you should reach out to a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. McCormick & Murphy offers a free, no obligation case evaluation at their offices in Colorado Springs, Denver, and Pueblo Colorado. To get legal help from an experienced Colorado Springs personal injury attorney, call us at (719) 389-0400.

RATE THIS POST

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5
Loading...

Share This Post